Centres for Doctoral Training


Network of Energy Centres for Doctoral Training

In 2009 Research Councils UK (RCUK) Energy Programme invested over £60 million in energy doctoral training by establishing the first Energy Centres for Doctoral Training. This was followed by  Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC) funding the creation of the Network of Energy Centres for Doctoral Training for a 3 year period from 2011.

The Network existed to capitalise on the investment in energy doctoral training and maximise the quality and benefits of the training programmes through coordinated activites. The Network was a central function that facilitated

  • collaboration between CDTs in areas such as training programmes and research projects
  • sharing of best practice between energy CDTs at all levels (student, administration and academic)
  • collective promotion of energy CDTs with industry and internationally
  • public engagement activities of CDTs

The Network was led by Professors Colin Snape (University of Nottingham) and Paul Williams (University of Leeds).

Read more about Centres for Doctoral Training on the EPSRC website.